Finland Today

12 Jun

Finland Today: the Land of a Thousand Lakes

Country: Finland

Finland is a Nordic country of Northern Europe. Official name is the Republic of Finland. Suomi is the name of the country in Finnish Language. Population of Suomi is approximately 5.5 million. Also Finland is called a country of thousand lakes and islands.

Baltic Cruise from Helsinki

Helsinki, the Capital of Finland

Capital: Helsinki

The capital and largest city of Finland is Helsinki. This beautiful city was founded in 1550 on the southern shore of the Gulf of Finland as the town of Helsingfors. In 1812 Helsinki was stated the Finnish capital. So, the population of Helsinki was increased. Now around 630 thousand Finns live in the capital.

Language: Finnish, Swedish and Sami

Finnish language  is a Uralic family language such as Hungarian and Estonian. It is not related to Scandinavian languages.

Thank youKiitos
Good morningHyvää huomenta
Good afternoonHyvää iltapäivää
Good eveningHyvää itaa
Good nightHyvää yötä


The flag of Finland is a blue Nordic/Scandinavian Cross on a white background.

Flag of Finland

Currency: Euro

Finland is a member of the European Union since 1995 and the Eurozone since 1999. Therefor, Finland has the euro. Exchanging money is not a problem. ATMs or Otto are operated with international credit or debit card such as Visa, Mastercard…  Also international credit cards are accepted in most shops.

Time Zone:

Eastern European Summer Time =UCT (Coordinated Universal Time)  + 3 hours

Eastern European Time = UCT (Coordinated Universal Time) + 2 hours